Hautlence Destination 03 montreShadows-1020

Destination Shenzhen (China)

The Destination 03 wrapped around my wrist reminds me that it’s time to leave the West behind and head East. The private jet takes off. Its perfect matt black body melts into the dark night; as dark as my personality and as perfect as everything I wear. Like a panther, my plane races down the tarmac and leaps high into the sky.

On the Alcantara tablet, my precious pieces are enclosed in a shiny box as inky black as the night sky my plane is flying through to take me to Shenzhen, a former fishing village turned modern and exciting mega city. I slip on my silk gloves and carefully open the box to unveil one of Hautlence’s latest timekeeping jewels: the epitome of the future, innovation and creativity. The light catches the polished rhodium-plated numerals on the new Destination watch which I’ve just bought Xu Fei, the Chinese counterpart I’m on my way to meet.

the epitome of the future, innovation and creativity

Hautlence Destination 03 details Case
Horns, bezel, crown and screws : black DLC-coated polished 316L steel.

Four Seasons Shenzhen salonMontre luxe Hautlence Destination 03

The quest for elegance and excellence.

I hold it up for a closer look. Xu Fei wanted a Hautlence after seeing mine. I admit I was surprised when he said « You can choose for me » but I must have good taste. We’ll find out very soon.

My eyes devour the watch in the darkness. The modern piece beautifully encapsulates his elusive personality whilst the structured black opaline honeycomb design reflects the graphic style often seen in his work. The fluid numerals and the combination of black and orange epitomise his cutting-edge, modern and relaxed style. The choice of alligator and titanium exemplifies the ongoing quest for elegance and excellence.

A light catches my eye. At this late hour, the sun has surrendered to the moon. Like looking through a peephole, the crescent moon has taken the sun king’s place behind the sapphire glass of the Destination watch. The hands point to the brand’s signature infinity symbol which also tells me it’s time to sleep to avoid jet lag. However, it’s far more important to check the final details for the opening of this new hotel. I’m a perfectionist and the attention to detail in this watch reflects my demand for precision.

Montre Hautlence Destination 03
Hautlence montre Destination 03 Four Seasons Shenzhen Hall Arrivée au Four Season Shenzhen
Montre luxe noir Hautlence Destination 03

The plane lands on the Shenzhen runway. Folders packed, watches cushioned in their case, I slide behind the wheel of a Jaguar provided for my lightning visit.

Xu Fei is waiting for me on the hotel steps. I see his knowing smile and say: « Sorry, there was turbulence during the flight! » But Xu Fei soon guesses that I made the most of the car and lost track of time. As sharp as ever, my associate instantly spots the box where I keep my best watches. I guess what he’s going to ask and assure him, « Yes, I have it. We’ll look at it after the tour if you like. »

We had planned a large lobby with impressive paintings. And here it is! One picture is a mixture of blue tones and the other is a collection of « fiery » colours to add a splash of colour to the grey marble. The thick carpet is reminiscent of plush palaces and leads us down the long corridor. Traditional Chinese architectural symbols engraved on the wooden wall panels give the hotel a classic look whilst sculptures in glass cases add a touch of modern style. We slow down to soak up the long hallway designed to provide a peaceful haven.

Bar Four Seasons Shenzhen Hautlence Destiantion 03

Hautlence Montre luxe Destination 03

Transparency is king in the restaurant. I can remember spending hours analysing my Destination to design this timeless setting. The light bounces off the restaurant’s shiny furnishings as it does on the dial’s opaline and gold finish. The sculpture running the length of the establishment gives a sense of weightlessness, just like the Hautlence logo suspended in the case. The harmony in the watch’s design is reflected in this setting which exudes intricacy and fluidity.

I give into my associate’s excitement and hand him the case. Near a graphic wall in a space furnished with plush beige armchairs and sculptures, Xu Fei accepts his timekeeping jewel as though he has won an architecture prize. I keep glancing at him as I wander through the establishment and finalise the lighting. From a distance, his reaction to his Destination is like a child on Christmas morning. I know him well enough to know that he’s trying to work out the new Hautlence movement enclosed in the 13mm thick revolutionary watch with a bright future.

his reaction to his Destination is like a child on Christmas morning

Calibre description: Soprod 9351/A10-2, hours, minutes,
large date, dual-time indication, day/night
indicator, automatic winding system.
Bar à thé Four Seasons Shenzhen
Hall entrée Four Season Shenzhen Chine
Hautlence Destination 01 et 02

The hotel is just like these watches

In the hotel restaurant, Xu Fei says, « It’s funny. The hotel is just like these watches: exciting, artistic and precious. » I reply, « It’s more like a confident, ingenious 35 year old man capable of delivering on future promises with ingenuity. »

The director’s arrival in the large lounge interrupts Xu Fei who was surely about to thank me. With a smile, Xu Fei discreetly puts his watch on whilst the director enthusiastically congratulates us. At that very moment, I see a 35 year old man wearing the symbol of a modern gentleman with pride.

Fei Xu Four Season Shenzhen Montre Hautlence Destination 03 Montre poignet Destination 03 Hautlence

More information

HAUTLENCE the watch brand from Neuchâtel founded in 2004 springs a surprise in 2013. By presenting a first line called Destination under the « Signature » label. Drawing inspiration from the House style codes, DESTINATION addresses cosmopolitan watch lovers by offering a complication that is a first for the brand, a dual time-zone indication.

HAUTLENCE has made no secret of its interest in external co-operative endeavours on certain lines. Picking up the original HAUTLENCE characteristics (architectural DNA, pure lines and a 3D spirit), DESTINATION is equipped – for the first time in brand history – with a self-winding movement sourced from an external partner, it can accordingly offer new functions: the hours and minutes are complemented by a large date and a 12-hour dragging dual time-zone display, revealed by a 24-hour day/night indicator. DESTINATION is issued in numbered, non-limited series. It comes in three versions:

Hautlence-Destination-en

Hautlence Destination 03 montreShadows-1020

Destination Shenzhen (China)

À mon poignet, ma Destination 03 me rappelle qu’il est l’heure de quitter l’Occident pour l’Orient. Le jet privé décolle. Son « noir mat » parfait se fond dans la nuit sombre. Sombre comme peut l’être mon caractère, parfait comme chaque objet que je porte. Mon avion semble être une panthère qui parcourt le tarmac à vive allure pour faire le grand saut et rejoindre le ciel.

Sur la tablette en alcantara, une boîte en laque noire dissimule mes précieux objets. Noire comme la nuit dans laquelle mon jet évolue pour me conduire à Shenzhen, cet ancien village de pêcheurs devenu une méga cité contemporaine et dynamique. J’enfile alors les gants de soie, ouvre délicatement l’écrin pour découvrir l’un des derniers bijoux horlogers d’Hautlence symbolisant le futur, l’innovation et la créativité. La lueur de la veilleuse se réfléchit sur les chiffres rhodiés et polis de la nouvelle montre Destination que je viens d’acquérir pour Xu Fei, mon homologue chinois que je rejoins.


Hautlence symbolisant
le futur, l’innovation
et la créativité

Hautlence Destination 03 details Boitier
Cornes, lunette, couronne
et vis : acier 316L poli
recouvert de DLC noir.

Four Seasons Shenzhen salonMontre luxe Hautlence Destination 03

Une quête permanente vouée
à l’élégance et l’excellence

Je la saisis pour l’admirer de plus près. Après avoir vu la mienne, Xu Fei voulait une « Hautlence ». Son « Je te laisse choisir pour moi » me laissa perplexe, c’est vrai. Il paraît que je fais les bons choix. L’avenir proche le confirmera.

Dans l’obscurité ambiante, je décrypte la montre. Sa personnalité insaisissable s’incarne à merveille dans ce garde-temps moderne. Le nid d’abeille, structuré et facetté en opalin noir, reflète son style graphique que l’on retrouve régulièrement dans ses travaux. La fluidité des chiffres et le métissage des couleurs noir et orange représentent son style contemporain et léger, toujours à la pointe du temps. Quant à l’alligator et le titane, ces matières sont la résultante même de sa quête permanente vouée à l’élégance et l’excellence.

Un reflet attire mon œil curieux. À cette heure tardive, le soleil a cédé sa place à la lune. Comme derrière les hublots, le quartier de lune a pris la place du roi soleil sous le saphir des montres Destination. Les aiguilles se sont retrouvées sur le signe de l’infini, à la fois icône graphique de la maison horlogère et symbole d’une heure à laquelle je devrais penser à me coucher pour éviter le jet lag. Pourtant, la vérification des derniers détails dédiés à l’ouverture de ce nouvel hôtel est bien plus importante. Je suis perfectionniste et la minutie de cette montre est à l’image de mon besoin de précision.

Montre Hautlence Destination 03
Hautlence montre Destination 03 Four Seasons Shenzhen Hall Arrivée au Four Season Shenzhen
Montre luxe noir Hautlence Destination 03

L’avion se pose sur une piste de Shenzhen. Dossiers emballés, montres protégées dans l’écrin, je me faufile au volant d’une Jaguar mise à ma disposition pour ce passage éclair.

Sur le perron de l’hôtel, Xu Fei m’attend. Face à son regard complice, je lui annonce un « Désolé quelques turbulences durant le vol ! ». Xu Fei a cependant très vite compris que j’avais profité de la voiture et oublié l’heure. Espiègle, comme toujours, mon acolyte remarque en un coup d’œil le coffret dans lequel je range mes plus belles montres. Ayant d’avance compris sa demande, je le rassure alors avec un « Oui je l’ai. On la regarde après la visite si tu veux bien ».

Nous avions imaginé un grand hall avec d’impressionnantes toiles. Elles y sont ! Mélange de bleus pour l’une, assortiment de couleurs « feu » pour la seconde, les œuvres donnent de l’éclat au marbre gris. L’épais tapis nous plonge dans la douceur typique des palaces. Il nous conduit vers un long couloir. Les motifs de l’architecture traditionnelle chinoise sont gravés dans le bois des parois conférant un côté classique à l’hôtel, tandis que les sculptures protégées derrière du verre donnent un style contemporain. Nos pas ralentissent dans cette longue promenade imaginée comme un havre de paix.

Bar Four Seasons Shenzhen Hautlence Destiantion 03

Hautlence Montre luxe Destination 03

Dans le restaurant, la transparence est reine. Je me souviens alors des heures passées à décortiquer ma Destination pour imaginer ce lieu intemporel. Comme elle le faisait sur l’opalin et le poli doré du cadran, la lumière se réfléchit sur les matériaux brillants de l’endroit. La sculpture parcourant sur toute la longueur du lieu semble légère tout à l’image du nom d’Hautlence, suspendu dans le boitier. L’harmonie des lignes de la montre se retrouve ici dans ce lieu mêlant complexité et fluidité.

Face à l’impatience de mon associé, je cède en lui confiant le fameux écrin. Non loin d’un mur graphique, dans un espace composé de larges fauteuils couleur beige et de quelques sculptures disposées ici et là, Xu Fei accueille son nouveau bijou horloger comme s’il venait de décrocher un prix d’architecture. Alors que je me promène parmi les lieux et finalise la mise en lumière, mon regard se porte régulièrement vers lui. De loin, la satisfaction de l’homme face à sa Destination est semblable à celle d’un enfant le jour de noël. Le connaissant, je sais déjà qu’il essaie de comprendre le nouveau mouvement d’Hautlence contenu dans les 13 millimètres d’épaisseur de cette révolution horlogère pleine de promesses.


la satisfaction face
à une Destination est
semblable à celle d’un
enfant le jour de noël

Description du mouvement :
Soprod 9351/A10-2, heure, minute, grande date,
2ème fuseau horaire, indicateur jour/nuit,
mouvement mécanique à remontage automatique.

Bar à thé Four Seasons Shenzhen
Hall entrée Four Season Shenzhen Chine

Hautlence Destination 01 et 02

Un hotel à l’image
de ces montres

Dans le restaurant de l’hôtel, Xu Fei me lance « C’est drôle, je trouve que l’hôtel est à l’image de ces montres, dynamique, artistique et précieux ». Ce à quoi je réponds « Elle est surtout à l’image d’un homme de 35 ans, sûr de soi, ingénieux et capable de répondre aux promesses du futur avec ingéniosité ».

L’arrivée du directeur dans le grand salon a interrompu les propos de Xu Fei qui s’apprêtait certainement à me dire « merci ». Sourire aux lèvres, Xu Fei accrocha discrètement sa montre pendant que le directeur ne cessait de nous féliciter. À ce même instant, j’ai vu un homme de 35 ans portant fièrement le symbole d’un gentleman dans l’air du temps.

Fei Xu Four Season Shenzhen Montre Hautlence Destination 03 Montre poignet Destination 03 Hautlence

En savoir plus

Marque horlogère neuchâteloise fondée en 2004, HAUTLENCE crée la surprise en présentant en 2013 une première ligne évoluant sous le label « Signature » appelée Destination. Réinterprétant les codes de la maison, Destination s’adresse aux cosmopolites, en offrant une complication encore inédite pour la marque, le double fuseau horaire.

HAUTLENCE n’a jamais caché son intérêt pour des collaborations externes sur certaines lignes. Reprenant les codes d’origine de HAUTLENCE (ADN architectural, lignes épurées et esprit 3D), DESTINATION est dotée – pour la première fois dans l’histoire de la marque – d’un mouvement automatique acheté à un partenaire externe, et peut ainsi proposer de nouvelles fonctions: les heures-minutes sont enrichies d’une grande date et d’un deuxième fuseau horaire trainant sur 12h, révélé par un indicateur jour/nuit trainant sur 24h. Destination est éditée en séries numérotées, non limitées et se décline en 3 versions :

Hautlence-Destination